William Forstchen

Easton Press William Forstchen books

Gettysburg - Newt Gingrich and William Forstchen - signed first edition -  2003

William Forstchen biography

William R. Forstchen is an American author and historian, born on October 11, 1950, in Millburn, New Jersey. He is widely recognized for his work as a prolific writer of historical fiction, science fiction, and speculative fiction. Forstchen earned his doctorate in history from Purdue University and has served as a professor at various institutions, including Purdue University and Montreat College. His academic background in history has significantly influenced his writing, leading him to explore alternate histories and historical events in his novels.

One of Forstchen's notable works is the novel One Second After (2009), co-written with Newt Gingrich. The book is a post-apocalyptic story that explores the aftermath of an electromagnetic pulse (EMP) attack on the United States and its devastating impact on society. The novel gained attention for its exploration of societal collapse and the challenges faced by individuals in a world without modern technology. Forstchen has also authored the Lost Regiment series, which combines elements of military science fiction and alternate history. The series follows a group of Union soldiers from the American Civil War who find themselves transported to a distant planet.

One Year After is the sequel to his earlier work, One Second After. The book is part of the post-apocalyptic series that explores the aftermath of an electromagnetic pulse (EMP) attack on the United States. In One Year After, Forstchen continues the story of the fictional town of Black Mountain, North Carolina, and its residents as they struggle to survive in a world without modern technology. The novel delves into the challenges of rebuilding society, addressing issues such as political instability, survivalism, and the human cost of a catastrophic event. The series, including One Second After and its sequels, gained attention for its realistic portrayal of the potential consequences of an EMP attack and its exploration of how communities might cope with such a scenario. For readers interested in post-apocalyptic fiction and societal collapse scenarios, William R. Forstchen's One Year After provides a thought-provoking continuation of the narrative established in One Second After. It's recommended to read One Second After first to fully grasp the context and characters in the series.

In addition to his fiction writing, Forstchen has written numerous non-fiction books and articles, often focusing on military history. His expertise in history and his ability to blend it with speculative fiction have earned him a dedicated readership. While Forstchen is recognized for his contributions to the genres of alternate history and science fiction, One Second After remains one of his most well-known and impactful works, prompting discussions on the potential consequences of EMP attacks.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Share your best book review and recommendation

Best books in order by author list:

A    B    C    D    E    F    G    H    I    J    K    L    M    N    O    P    Q    R    S    T    U    V    W    X    Y    Z

Privacy Policy        |        Terms and Disclosure        |        Contact        |        About        |        Best Book Categories        |        Framed Tributes

© 2002 - 2024 Leather Bound Treasure