W. Somerset Maugham

Easton Press W. Somerset Maugham books

The Moon and Sixpence - The Collector's Library of Famous Editions - 1969
Of Human Bondage - The Collector's Library of Famous Editions - 1985
The Razor's Edge
Of Human Bondage - 2001

Franklin Library W. Somerset Maugham books

Tales From The East and West - Best Loved Books - 1979
Selected stories of W. Somerset Maugham - Collected Stories of the World's Greatest Writers - 1979
Ashenden (or British agent) - Library of Mystery Masterpieces - 1987

W. Somerset Maugham biography

W. Somerset Maugham was a British playwright, novelist, and short story writer known for his keen observations of human behavior, elegant prose, and astute characterizations. Born on January 25, 1874, in Paris, France, as the son of an English lawyer working for the British embassy. Maugham spent his early years in France before moving to England with his family following the death of his parents. His mother died while he was young which had a lasting impact on his life and personality. At the age of 16 W. Somerset Maugham attended Heidelberg University where he studied literature and philosophy. In Heidelberg he met a much older English man with whom he had a homosexual relationship. After studying medicine at St. Thomas' Hospital Medical School in London, Maugham worked briefly as a physician before devoting himself to writing full-time. He published his first novel, Liza of Lambeth, in 1897, which garnered critical acclaim and established him as a promising young author.

Maugham's literary career flourished in the early 20th century, as he produced a prolific body of work that included novels, short stories, plays, and essays. His writing often explored themes of love, betrayal, disillusionment, and the clash between societal expectations and individual desires. Some of Maugham's most famous works include Of Human Bondage (1915), a semi-autobiographical novel that explores the struggles of an orphaned boy named Philip Carey, and The Razor's Edge (1944), a novel that follows the spiritual journey of an American World War I veteran named Larry Darrell. While his masterpiece is Of Human Bondage, a partially autobiographical book, there are numerous other books by W. Somerset Maugham that achieved considerable success.

In addition to his novels, Maugham was also a successful playwright, with several of his plays enjoying commercial and critical success in both London's West End and on Broadway. His most famous plays include The Circle (1921), Our Betters (1923), and The Constant Wife (1926).

Maugham's writing style was characterized by its clarity, precision, and wit, as well as its exploration of psychological complexity and moral ambiguity. His works often featured flawed and nuanced characters grappling with the complexities of life, love, and society. The many short stories and books by W. Somerset Maugham contain a unique writing style. His writing style is simple yet it contains a complex and insightful opinion, and narrative.

Throughout his career, Maugham enjoyed widespread popularity and critical acclaim, earning praise from both literary critics and the reading public. He was also a prolific traveler, visiting numerous countries and drawing inspiration from his experiences abroad in his writing. W. Somerset Maugham passed away on December 16, 1965, but his legacy as one of the preeminent literary figures of the 20th century endures. His works continue to be read and admired for their incisive insight into the human condition and their timeless exploration of universal themes.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Share your best book review and recommendation

Best books in order by author list:

A    B    C    D    E    F    G    H    I    J    K    L    M    N    O    P    Q    R    S    T    U    V    W    X    Y    Z

Privacy Policy        |        Terms and Disclosure        |        Contact        |        About        |        Best Book Categories        |        Framed Tributes

© 2002 - 2024 Leather Bound Treasure