Ursula K. Le Guin

Easton Press Ursula K. Le Guin books

The Dispossessed: An Ambiguous Utopia - Masterpieces of Science Fiction - 1986
The Left Hand of Darkness - Masterpieces of Science Fiction (signed edition) - 1992
A Fisherman of the Island Sea - Signed First Edition of Science Fiction - 1995
Four Ways to Forgiveness - Signed First Editions of Science Fiction - 1995 
The Telling - Signed First Editions of Science Fiction - 2000

Earthsea Tretralogy - 2005 - 4 volume set including the following books :
- A Wizard of Earthsea
- The Tombs of Atuan
- The Farthest Shore
- Tehanu

Ursula K. Le Guin biography

Ursula Kroeber Le Guin, born on October 21, 1929, in Berkeley, California, was a pioneering figure in speculative fiction whose literary legacy continues to resonate deeply within the genre. She was the daughter of anthropologist Alfred Louis Kroeber and writer Theodora Kracaw, and her upbringing in a household steeped in academia and creativity profoundly influenced her future work. Le Guin's early years were shaped by her love of reading and writing, nurtured by her parents' encouragement and the diverse array of books available to her. After completing her undergraduate studies at Radcliffe College, where she studied French and Italian literature, Le Guin went on to pursue a master's degree in Romance literature at Columbia University. However, it was during this time that she discovered her true passion for writing speculative fiction.

In 1962, Le Guin's debut novel, Rocannon's World, was published, marking the beginning of a prolific and influential career. Over the following decades, she would go on to produce a staggering body of work that encompassed novels, short stories, poetry, essays, and translations. Her writing was characterized by its thought-provoking exploration of themes such as gender, race, politics, and the human condition, all within the framework of richly imagined speculative worlds. Le Guin's most famous work, the Earthsea series, began with the publication of A Wizard of Earthsea in 1968. This seminal fantasy series, which follows the adventures of the young wizard Ged, is celebrated for its lyrical prose, deep philosophical insights, and nuanced portrayal of magic and morality. The series continued with several sequels, including The Tombs of Atuan (1971), The Farthest Shore (1972), and Tehanu (1990), among others.

In addition to her fantasy writing, Le Guin made significant contributions to the science fiction genre with works such as The Left Hand of Darkness (1969), a groundbreaking novel that explores themes of gender and sexuality on a distant planet called Gethen, and The Dispossessed (1974), which examines the complexities of anarchism and utopianism through the lens of two contrasting societies.

Throughout her career, Le Guin received numerous awards and honors for her contributions to literature, including multiple Hugo, Nebula, and Locus Awards. In 2003, she was named a Grand Master by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America, recognizing her enduring impact on the genre. Ursula K. Le Guin passed away on January 22, 2018, leaving behind a rich and diverse body of work that continues to inspire readers, writers, and thinkers around the world. Her legacy as a visionary of speculative fiction, as well as her advocacy for social and environmental causes, ensures that her influence will be felt for generations to come.

Best books in order by author list:

A    B    C    D    E    F    G    H    I    J    K    L    M    N    O    P    Q    R    S    T    U    V    W    X    Y    Z

Privacy Policy        |        Terms and Disclosure        |        Contact        |        About        |        Best Book Categories        |        Framed Tributes

© 2002 - 2024 Leather Bound Treasure