T.S. Stribling

Franklin Library T.S. Stribling books

The Store - Library of Pulitzer Prize Classics - 1977

Author T.S. Stribling

T.S. Stribling, born Thomas Sigismund Stribling on March 4, 1881, in Clifton, Tennessee, was a prominent American author renowned for his contributions to Southern literature. He was raised in a family deeply rooted in the traditions of the American South, which profoundly influenced his writing style and thematic concerns. After completing his education at the University of Alabama, Stribling embarked on a career as a journalist, working for various newspapers in the South. However, his true passion lay in fiction, and he soon began to focus on writing novels and short stories.

Stribling's literary career gained significant traction with the publication of his novel Birthright in 1922. This work marked the beginning of his acclaimed Vaiden Trilogy, which explored themes of race, class, and family dynamics in the post-Civil War South. The subsequent novels in the trilogy, The Forge (1924) and The Store (1932), further solidified his reputation as a master storyteller and a keen observer of Southern life. His writing often depicted the struggles of African Americans and challenged prevailing stereotypes, making him a pioneering voice in the literary landscape of his time. In 1933, Stribling was awarded the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction for his novel The Store, cementing his status as one of the preeminent writers of Southern literature. His body of work continued to expand, encompassing a wide range of genres, including historical fiction, mystery, and social commentary.

Beyond his literary achievements, Stribling was known for his progressive views on race relations and his advocacy for social reform. He was actively involved in various causes aimed at promoting equality and justice, reflecting his commitment to using his platform as a writer to effect positive change. T.S. Stribling passed away on July 8, 1965, leaving behind a rich legacy of literature that continues to resonate with readers today. His insightful exploration of the human condition, combined with his unwavering dedication to truth and justice, ensures that his work remains an enduring testament to the power of storytelling to illuminate the complexities of the Southern experience.

Best books in order by author list:

A    B    C    D    E    F    G    H    I    J    K    L    M    N    O    P    Q    R    S    T    U    V    W    X    Y    Z

Privacy Policy        |        Terms and Disclosure        |        Contact        |        About        |        Best Book Categories        |        Framed Tributes

© 2002 - 2024 Leather Bound Treasure