Terry Brooks

Easton Press Terry Brooks books

The Sword of Shannara - Signed Limited Edition - 1997


Author Terry Brooks

Terry Brooks, born on January 8, 1944, in Sterling, Illinois, is an American author best known for his contributions to the fantasy genre. He rose to prominence with the publication of his debut novel, The Sword of Shannara, in 1977, which became a major success and marked the beginning of an extensive and beloved series. Brooks developed a passion for storytelling and writing at an early age, nurtured by his love for fantasy literature. After earning a Bachelor of Arts in English literature from Hamilton College in Clinton, New York, he went on to obtain a law degree from Washington and Lee University in Virginia. Despite his legal education, Terry Brooks found his true calling in the realm of storytelling.

The Sword of Shannara is a seminal work in the fantasy genre, often compared to J.R.R. Tolkien's The Lord of the Rings. The novel introduced readers to the Four Lands, a magical realm populated by various races and creatures. The success of the Shannara series established Brooks as a significant figure in fantasy literature. Over the years, Terry Brooks expanded the Shannara series, creating a vast and interconnected world with numerous trilogies and stand-alone novels. His works often feature a blend of classic fantasy elements, including magic, epic quests, and diverse characters.

Apart from the Shannara series, Brooks has explored other fantasy settings, including the Landover series, which began with Magic Kingdom for Sale—Sold! in 1986. This series, in contrast to the Shannara books, combines fantasy with humor. Terry Brooks' impact on the fantasy genre goes beyond his novels. He has been actively involved in various literary organizations and has served as a strong advocate for the importance of fantasy literature. As a respected and prolific author, Brooks has continued to engage with his readership, attending conventions and interacting with fans.

Terry Brooks' enduring popularity attests to his ability to craft engaging and immersive fantasy worlds, captivating generations of readers with his storytelling prowess. His dedication to the genre has solidified his place as one of the leading figures in modern fantasy literature.


The Sword of Shannara

Living in peaceful Shady Vale, Shea Ohmsford knew little of the troubles that plagued the rest of the world. Then the giant, forbidding Allanon revealed that the supposedly dead Warlock Lord was plotting to destroy the world. The sole weapon against this Power of Darkness was the Sword of Shannara, which could only be used by a true heir of Shannara Shea being the last of the bloodline, upon whom all hope rested. Soon a Skull Bearer, dread minion of Evil, flew into the Vale, seeking to destroy Shea. To save the Vale, Shea fled, drawing the Skull Bearer after him....

The Sword of Shannara Trilogy


The Sword of Shannara

Long ago, the world of Shea Ohmsford was torn apart by war. But the half-human, half-elfin, Shea now lives in peace until the forbidding figure of Allanon appears, to reveal that the long dead Warlock Lord lives again

The Elfstones of Shannara

Ancient evil threatens the Elves and the Races of Man. For the Ellcrys, the tree of long-lost Elven magic, is dying - loosing the spell of Forbidding that locks the hordes of Demons away from Earth. Only one source has the power to stop it: the Elfstones of Shannara.

The Wishsong of Shannara

Evil stalks the Four Lands as the Ildatch, immemorial book of evil spells, has stirred to eldritch life. Once again Allanon, ancient Druid Protector of the Races, must seek the help of a descendant of Jerle Shannara.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Share your best book review and recommendation

Best books in order by author list:

A    B    C    D    E    F    G    H    I    J    K    L    M    N    O    P    Q    R    S    T    U    V    W    X    Y    Z

Privacy Policy        |        Terms and Disclosure        |        Contact        |        About        |        Best Book Categories        |        Framed Tributes

© 2002 - 2024 Leather Bound Treasure