Rudyard Kipling Books

Easton Press Rudyard Kipling books:
Kim - 1962
The Jungle Books - 1980
Just So Stories - 1992
Tales of East and West
Captains Courageous

Franklin Library Rudyard Kipling books:
Captain Courageous - World's Best Loved Books - 1978
17 stories by Rudyard Kipling - Collected Stories of the World's Greatest Writers - 1978

Rudyard Kipling (1865-1936) was an English author who was born in Bombay India. He attended the United Services College in North Devon. Early in his career Rudyard Kipling served on the editorial staff at the Military Gazette in Lahore India. It was during this time that he began writing short stories and publishing them in the Military Gazette. Many of these short stories are also included in his second book Plain Tales From the Hills which was published in 1887. His first book was published a year earlier a satire titled Department Ditties. The first true success Rudyard Kipling experienced as an author was from a series of stories published in 1888 and 1889. These stories are mainly about life in India and include Phantom Rickshaw, Wee Willie Winkie, Soldiers Three, In Black and White, The Story of the Gadsbys, and Under the Deodars. Following his success with these stories, he traveled to many destinations before finally taking residence in England. During these travels he met and married an American woman. Throughout his travels, and after settling in England, Rudyard Kipling wrote many short stories. One notable book written during this period, and perhaps his most famous book is The Jungle Book published in 1894. In 1907 he became the first English author to receive the Nobel Prize for literature.

Today Rudyard Kipling is considered among the greatest authors in English Literature, and is highly respected as a master of short story writing. Throughout his life Rudyard Kipling published many short stories and poems including the following:
Departmental Ditties - 1886
Plain Tales From the Hills - 1887
Sea to Sea (sketches) - 1889
Life's Handicap - 1890
The Light That Failed - 1891
Barrack Room Ballads - 1892
Many Inventions - 1893
The Jungle Book - 1894
The Second Jungle Book - 1895
The Seven Seas - 1896
Captains Courageous - 1897
The Day's Work - 1898
Salky and Co. - 1899
Kim - 1901
Just So Stories for Little Children - 1902
The Five Nations - 1903
Puck of Pook's Hill - 1906
Actions and Reactions - 1909
Rewards and Fairies - 1910
A Book of Words - 1928
Something of Myself an Autobiography - written 1936 and published 1937

Powered By Blogger

Privacy Policy        |        Contact        |        Affiliate Marketing Disclosure and Terms

© 2002 - 2022 Leather Bound Treasure