Robert Silverberg

Easton Press Robert Silverberg books

A Time of Changes - Masterpieces of Science Fiction - 1988
To The Land of The Living - Signed First Edition of Science Fiction - 1990
Dying Inside - Masterpieces of Science Fiction - 1991
Kingdoms of Wall - Signed First Editions of Science Fiction - 1993
Hot Sky at Midnight - Signed First Editions of Science Fiction - 1994
The Mountains of Majipoor - Signed First Editions of Science Fiction - 1995
Starborne - Signed First Editions of Science Fiction - 1996
Lord Valentine's Castle - Masterpieces of Fantasy - 1997
The Alien Years - Signed First Editions of Science Fiction - 1998
The Longest Way Home - Signed First Editions of Science Fiction - 2002


Author Robert Silverberg

Robert Silverberg, a luminary in the realm of science fiction and speculative literature, was born on January 15, 1935, in Brooklyn, New York. From an early age, he displayed a profound love for storytelling and a keen interest in science, which would later become hallmarks of his literary career. Silverberg's journey into the world of science fiction began in his teenage years when he started submitting stories to pulp magazines. His talent was quickly recognized, and by the age of 19, he had sold his first professional story, Gorgon Planet, to the magazine Super Science Stories.

Throughout the 1950s and 1960s, Silverberg established himself as one of the most prolific writers in the science fiction genre, churning out a staggering number of short stories and novels. His work during this period encompassed a wide range of themes, from space exploration and alien encounters to social commentary and existential exploration. In 1956, Silverberg received a Hugo Award for Most Promising New Author, setting the stage for a career marked by critical acclaim and literary excellence. His early novels, such as Revolt on Alpha C (1955) and Master of Life and Death (1957), showcased his prodigious imagination and narrative skill. Throughout the 1960s, Silverberg's literary output continued to impress, with seminal works like Nightwings (1969) and Downward to the Earth (1970) earning him widespread praise for their imaginative depth and philosophical insight. He also began to explore themes of identity, consciousness, and the nature of reality in works like Dying Inside (1972), which remains one of his most celebrated novels.

As the science fiction genre evolved, Silverberg's writing adapted to reflect new trends and ideas. He embraced experimental forms and narrative techniques, pushing the boundaries of the genre and earning a reputation as a visionary storyteller. In addition to his prolific writing career, Silverberg also made significant contributions as an editor, anthologist, and critic. He edited numerous anthologies of science fiction and fantasy, showcasing the work of both established authors and emerging talents.

Despite experiencing a brief hiatus from writing in the late 1970s, Silverberg returned to the literary scene with renewed vigor in the 1980s, producing a series of acclaimed novels and short stories that reaffirmed his status as a master of the genre. Over the course of his career, Robert Silverberg received numerous awards and honors, including multiple Hugo and Nebula Awards, cementing his legacy as one of the most influential figures in science fiction literature. Today, Silverberg's works continue to captivate readers with their imaginative scope, literary craftsmanship, and thought-provoking themes. His impact on the science fiction genre remains profound, inspiring generations of writers and readers alike to explore the boundless possibilities of the human imagination.


Best books in order by author list:

A    B    C    D    E    F    G    H    I    J    K    L    M    N    O    P    Q    R    S    T    U    V    W    X    Y    Z

Privacy Policy        |        Terms and Disclosure        |        Contact        |        About        |        Best Book Categories        |        Framed Tributes

© 2002 - 2024 Leather Bound Treasure