Robert Louis Stevenson

Easton Press Robert Louis Stevenson books

The Master of Ballantrae - The Collector's Library of Famous Editions - 1965
Kidnapped - 1966
Treasure Island - 100 Greatest Books Ever Written - 1977
The Strange Case Of Dr. Jekyll and Mr Hyde - 100 Greatest Books Ever Written - 1980
A Child's Garden of Verses - The Collector's Library of Famous Editions - 1987
The Black Arrow - 1991
Kidnapped - 1991
The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde - Horror Classics - 2003

Franklin Library Robert Louis Stevenson books

Treasure Island - 100 Greatest Books of All Time - 1975
Treasure Island - World's Best Loved Books - 1978
The New Arabian Nights - Collected Stories of the World's Greatest Writers - 1979
Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde - World's Best Loved Books - 1980
Strange case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde - Library of Mystery Masterpieces - 1989

Robert Louis Stevenson biography

Robert Louis Stevenson, a beloved Scottish novelist, poet, and essayist, was born on November 13, 1850, in Edinburgh, Scotland. He hailed from a family of engineers and lighthouse designers, and his father, Thomas Stevenson, expected him to follow in the family tradition. However, young Robert had other aspirations and demonstrated a keen interest in literature from an early age.Stevenson's health was delicate throughout his life, plagued by respiratory problems that would later inspire his famous work Treasure Island (1883). Despite his health issues, he attended the University of Edinburgh to study engineering but found his true passion lay in writing. He contributed essays and short stories to various publications, displaying a talent for vivid storytelling and a knack for capturing the imagination of his readers.

In 1876, Stevenson abandoned his engineering studies to pursue a career as a full-time writer. He traveled extensively throughout Europe, gathering inspiration for his writing and honing his craft. During this time, he befriended fellow writers and intellectuals, including the likes of Henry James and Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, who would later become famous in their own right. Stevenson's breakthrough came with the publication of Treasure Island in 1883, a swashbuckling adventure story set on the high seas. The novel introduced iconic characters such as Long John Silver and Jim Hawkins and captivated readers with its thrilling plot and vivid imagery. "Treasure Island" remains one of Stevenson's most beloved works and a timeless classic of children's literature. Following the success of Treasure Island, Stevenson continued to write prolifically, producing a string of popular novels, including Kidnapped (1886) and The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde (1886). The latter, a chilling exploration of duality and the human psyche, remains one of the most famous works of horror fiction ever written. In addition to his novels, Stevenson also wrote poetry, essays, and travel literature, showcasing his versatility and literary talent. His travelogue Travels with a Donkey in the Cevennes (1879) documents his journey through the French countryside and is celebrated for its wit, humor, and keen observations of human nature.

Despite his literary success, Stevenson's health continued to deteriorate, forcing him to seek warmer climates in search of relief. He eventually settled in Samoa in the South Pacific, where he found solace in the island's natural beauty and vibrant culture. It was there that he penned additional works, including the novel The Beach of Falesá (1892) and the collection of essays In the South Seas (1896). Robert Louis Stevenson passed away on December 3, 1894, in Vailima, Samoa, at the age of 44. Despite his untimely death, his literary legacy endures, with his works continuing to inspire and entertain readers of all ages around the world. Stevenson's mastery of storytelling, his rich imagination, and his profound insights into the human condition ensure that he remains one of the most celebrated authors in the English language.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Share your best book review and recommendation

Best books in order by author list:

A    B    C    D    E    F    G    H    I    J    K    L    M    N    O    P    Q    R    S    T    U    V    W    X    Y    Z

Privacy Policy        |        Terms and Disclosure        |        Contact        |        About        |        Best Book Categories        |        Framed Tributes

© 2002 - 2024 Leather Bound Treasure