Richard K. Morgan

Easton Press Richard K. Morgan books

Broken Angels - Signed First Edition of Science Fiction - 2004
Market Forces - Signed First Editions of Science Fiction - 2005
Thirteen - Signed First Editions of Science Fiction - 2007
Altered Carbon - Signed Modern Classic - 2021


Author Richard K. Morgan

Richard K. Morgan, born on September 24, 1965, in London, England, is a critically acclaimed science fiction and fantasy author known for his gritty, noir-infused narratives and complex characters. His works often explore themes of identity, technology, and the darker aspects of human nature, earning him a dedicated following among readers of speculative fiction. Morgan's early life was marked by a passion for storytelling and a deep interest in science fiction literature. He studied history at Queens' College, Cambridge, where he developed his writing skills and honed his craft as a storyteller.

Morgan's literary career began in earnest with the publication of his debut novel, Altered Carbon, in 2002. This groundbreaking work, set in a future where consciousness can be transferred between bodies, introduced readers to the hardened ex-soldier turned private investigator, Takeshi Kovacs. Altered Carbon garnered widespread acclaim for its innovative premise, relentless action, and thought-provoking exploration of themes such as identity, mortality, and societal inequality. The success of Altered Carbon launched Morgan into the forefront of the science fiction genre, paving the way for a prolific writing career that would span multiple novels, novellas, and short stories. His subsequent works, including Broken Angels (2003) and Woken Furies (2005), further solidified his reputation as a master of hard-edged, cyberpunk-infused storytelling.

In addition to his science fiction novels, Morgan has also ventured into the realm of fantasy literature with his A Land Fit for Heroes trilogy, which includes The Steel Remains (2008), The Cold Commands (2011), and The Dark Defiles (2014). These gritty and immersive novels offer a starkly different setting from Morgan's science fiction works but maintain his signature blend of complex characters and visceral storytelling.

Throughout his career, Richard K. Morgan has received numerous awards and accolades for his contributions to the science fiction and fantasy genres, including the Philip K. Dick Award for Altered Carbon and the Arthur C. Clarke Award for Black Man (published as Thirteen in the United States). His works continue to captivate readers with their uncompromising vision, relentless pace, and thought-provoking themes, cementing his status as one of the most innovative and influential voices in speculative fiction today.


Best books in order by author list:

A    B    C    D    E    F    G    H    I    J    K    L    M    N    O    P    Q    R    S    T    U    V    W    X    Y    Z

Privacy Policy        |        Terms and Disclosure        |        Contact        |        About        |        Best Book Categories        |        Framed Tributes

© 2002 - 2024 Leather Bound Treasure