Richard Ford

Easton Press Richard Ford books

Independence Day - signed modern classic - 2005


Writer Richard Ford

Richard Ford, born on February 16, 1944, in Jackson, Mississippi, is an acclaimed American novelist and short story writer. His works often explore themes of identity, family dynamics, and the complexities of human relationships. Ford is best known for his novels centered around the character Frank Bascombe. Ford's early life was marked by a nomadic upbringing as his father worked for the Veterans Administration. He attended Michigan State University and later pursued an M.F.A. in creative writing at the University of California, Irvine. His journey into the literary world began with short story publications in various literary magazines.

In 1976, Ford gained widespread recognition with the publication of his first novel, A Piece of My Heart. However, it was his Frank Bascombe trilogy that solidified his reputation as a major American novelist. The trilogy includes The Sportswriter (1986), Independence Day (1995), and The Lay of the Land (2006). Independence Day won the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction and the PEN/Faulkner Award. The Frank Bascombe trilogy follows the life of a real estate agent and writer in New Jersey, providing an intricate exploration of the character over several decades. Ford's writing is often praised for its depth, realism, and keen observation of the human condition.

In addition to his novels, Ford has published numerous short story collections, including Rock Springs (1987) and A Multitude of Sins (2002). His short stories are known for their emotional resonance and precise prose. Ford has been recognized with various awards and honors for his contributions to literature. Apart from the Pulitzer Prize, he received the Rea Award for the Short Story in 1995 and was awarded the PEN/Malamud Award for Excellence in the Short Story in 2008. Richard Ford's literary achievements have positioned him as a prominent figure in contemporary American literature, and his works continue to be widely read and studied for their exploration of the complexities of modern American life.


Independence Day - Frank Bascombe Book 2

A visionary account of American life and the long-awaited sequel to one of the most celebrated novels of the past decade Independence Day reveals a man and our country with unflinching comedy and the specter of hope and even permanence, all of which Richard Ford evokes with a keen intelligence, perfect emotional pitch, and a voice invested with absolute authority.


Best books in order by author list:

A    B    C    D    E    F    G    H    I    J    K    L    M    N    O    P    Q    R    S    T    U    V    W    X    Y    Z

Privacy Policy        |        Terms and Disclosure        |        Contact        |        About        |        Best Book Categories        |        Framed Tributes

© 2002 - 2024 Leather Bound Treasure