Moshe Arens

Easton Press Moshe Arens books

Broken Covenant - signed first edition - 1995

Moshe Arens biography

Moshe Arens, born on December 27, 1925, in Kaunas, Lithuania, was an Israeli aeronautical engineer, diplomat, and politician who played a significant role in the early years of the State of Israel. He was known for his contributions to Israel's defense and diplomatic efforts, as well as for his service in various ministerial roles. Arens immigrated to the British Mandate of Palestine with his family in 1939, escaping the rising threat of World War II. He joined the Haganah, the Jewish paramilitary organization, during the Arab-Israeli War of 1948, participating in the defense of the newly established state. This early experience laid the foundation for his lifelong commitment to Israel's security.

After earning a degree in aeronautical engineering from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) in the United States, Arens worked in the aerospace industry. He contributed to the development of the Israeli aircraft industry and played a role in the establishment of the Israel Aircraft Industries.

Arens' political career began in the Likud Party, and he served as a Member of the Knesset (Israeli Parliament) from 1973 to 1992 and again from 1999 to 2003. His dedication to national defense led him to various ministerial positions, including Minister of Defense, a role he held three times (1983-1984, 1990-1992, and 1999-2000). During his terms as Defense Minister, Arens faced challenges such as the Lebanon War and contributed to the development of Israel's defense capabilities. He also served as Minister of Foreign Affairs (1988-1990) and Minister of Defense and Minister of Foreign Affairs concurrently in 1990. Arens was known for his principled and pragmatic approach to Israeli security and foreign policy issues.

Beyond his political career, Moshe Arens authored several books, including Broken Covenant: American Foreign Policy and the Crisis Between the U.S. and Israel (1995), in which he offered insights into the complexities of U.S.-Israeli relations. Moshe Arens was respected for his integrity, intelligence, and dedication to Israel's well-being. He passed away on January 7, 2019, leaving behind a legacy of service to his country, both in the military and political arenas.

Broken Covenant: American Foreign Policy and the Crisis Between the U.S. and Israel

In this work, Arens, who served as Israel's Minister of Defense and Minister of Foreign Affairs, provides a detailed analysis of the relationship between the United States and Israel, particularly during a period of perceived strain in the early 1990s. The book explores the dynamics of U.S.-Israeli relations during a critical juncture in the aftermath of the Gulf War (1990-1991) and against the backdrop of the ongoing Israeli-Arab conflict. It delves into various aspects of the relationship, including diplomatic exchanges, military cooperation, and political challenges. Arens, drawing on his own experiences as a key figure in Israeli politics and foreign affairs, offers insights into the complexities of the alliance.

One of the central themes in Broken Covenant is the perceived divergence in priorities and interests between the United States and Israel during the period covered by the book. Arens discusses the challenges faced by Israel in navigating its relationship with the U.S. against the backdrop of changing regional dynamics and the ongoing peace process with its Arab neighbors.

The title Broken Covenant suggests a sense of betrayal or disappointment, hinting at the strain in the traditional close ties between the two nations. It reflects Arens' concerns about perceived shifts in U.S. policy and the potential impact on Israel's security and strategic interests. Broken Covenant contributes to the broader literature on U.S.-Israeli relations and offers readers an insider's perspective on the challenges and opportunities faced by Israel in its interactions with its most significant ally.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Share your best book review and recommendation

Best books in order by author list:

A    B    C    D    E    F    G    H    I    J    K    L    M    N    O    P    Q    R    S    T    U    V    W    X    Y    Z

Privacy Policy        |        Terms and Disclosure        |        Contact        |        About        |        Best Book Categories        |        Framed Tributes

© 2002 - 2024 Leather Bound Treasure