Margaret Mitchell

Easton Press Margaret Mitchell books

Gone With The Wind (2 volume set) - 1968

Franklin Library Margaret Mitchell books

Gone With The Wind - Pulitzer Prize Classics - 1976
Gone With The Wind - World's Best Loved Books - 1978
Gone With The Wind - 20th Century's Greatest Books - 1981

Author Margaret Mitchell

Margaret Munnerlyn Mitchell, born on November 8, 1900, in Atlanta, Georgia, emerged as one of the most celebrated authors of the 20th century, leaving an indelible mark on literature with her magnum opus, Gone with the Wind. Mitchell's life was as captivating and complex as the characters she brought to life on the pages of her iconic novel. Raised in a prosperous and genteel Southern family, Mitchell was immersed in the rich tapestry of Southern culture, history, and tradition from an early age. Despite her privileged upbringing, Mitchell displayed an independent spirit and a keen intellect that set her apart. After graduating from Washington Seminary in Atlanta, Mitchell attended Smith College in Massachusetts, where she distinguished herself as a talented writer and student. However, her academic pursuits were interrupted by tragedy when her mother died unexpectedly, prompting Mitchell to return to Atlanta to care for her father. It was during this period of personal upheaval that Mitchell began to channel her creative energies into writing. Despite her initial reluctance to pursue a career as a writer, Mitchell's talent was undeniable, and she soon found success as a journalist, working for the Atlanta Journal Sunday Magazine between 1922 and 1926.

In 1922, Mitchell married Berrien "Red" Upshaw, a marriage that ended in divorce several years later. In 1925, she married John Marsh, a former suitor, and together they would form a lasting partnership that would endure for the rest of Mitchell's life. Throughout the 1920s and 1930s, Mitchell continued to hone her craft as a writer, immersing herself in the vibrant literary scene of Atlanta and cultivating friendships with fellow writers and intellectuals. It was against this backdrop that Mitchell began work on her masterpiece, Gone with the Wind.

Published in 1936, Gone with the Wind became an instant sensation, captivating readers with its sweeping narrative, vivid characters, and lush depiction of the antebellum South. Gone With The Wind saw sales of over 1,500,000 copies in the first year alone and the novel went on to win the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction in 1937. The novel remains one of the best-selling books of all time. Gone With The Wind describes a romantic life in the South during the American Civil War period, and became an almost instant classic in American Literature. Within the following ten years Gone With The Wind was translated into over 30 languages and was made into a classic movie in 1939. Despite the overwhelming success of Gone with the Wind, Mitchell shied away from the spotlight, preferring to live a quiet and private life out of the public eye. She continued to write, albeit sporadically, but never published another novel before her untimely death.

Tragically, Mitchell's life was cut short when she was struck by a car while crossing Peachtree Street in Atlanta on August 11, 1949. She died five days later from her injuries, leaving behind a literary legacy that continues to captivate and inspire readers around the world. Margaret Mitchell's enduring masterpiece, Gone with the Wind, stands as a testament to her talent, vision, and insight into the human condition. Through her immortal words, Mitchell has ensured that her legacy will endure for generations to come, a shining beacon of Southern literature and storytelling excellence.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Share your best book review and recommendation

Best books in order by author list:

A    B    C    D    E    F    G    H    I    J    K    L    M    N    O    P    Q    R    S    T    U    V    W    X    Y    Z

Privacy Policy        |        Terms and Disclosure        |        Contact        |        About        |        Best Book Categories        |        Framed Tributes

© 2002 - 2024 Leather Bound Treasure