Lewis Carroll Books

Easton Press Lewis Carroll books:
Alice's Adventures in Wonderland - 1977
Through The Looking Glass - 1995

Two volume set including
Alice's Adventures in Wonderland
Through The Looking Glass

Franklin Library Lewis Carroll books:
Alice's Adventures in Wonderland - 100 Greatest Books of All Time - 1975
Alice in Wonderland and other stories - Collected Stories of the World's Greatest Writers - 1983
Alice's Adventures In Wonderland - World's Best Loved Books - 1981

Alice In Wonderland is a story for children by the English mathematician and author Charles Lutwidge Dodgson, written under the pen name Lewis Carroll, and published in 1865. The story was originally composed for Dobgson’s young friend Alice Liddell, the daughter of the dean of Christ Church, Henry George Liddell. On its publication, with illustrations by the English artist Sir John Tenniel, the work immediately became popular as a story for children; subsequently however, its ingenious mixtures of fantasy and realism and irony and absurdity made it almost equally appealing to adults. In 1871 Lewis Carroll wrote a sequel, Through the Looking Glass, which attained popularity equal to that of the earlier book. The two works are generally grouped together in the minds of their readers, and are frequently printed as a single volume.

Each story in Alice In Wonderland is an account of a dream of Alice, a young English girl. In the first dream, told in Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, she follows the white rabbit down a long hole into Wonderland. Here she meets with fantastic adventures at the hands, imaginatively drawn characters. Many of these characters have become familiar in everyday speech. The majority, including the March Hare, the Mad Hatter, the Cheshire Cat, and the Dodo, are taken from the animal world; others, such as the King, Queen, and the Knave of Hearts, are personifications of playing cards. In Through the Looking Glass Alice steps through a mirror in her parlor to enter Looking Glass House. She becomes a piece in a game of chess, in which all the chessmen are alive, and meets such famous characters as Humpty-Dumpty and Tweedledum and Tweedledee. This book contains the well known poems Jabberwocky and The Walrus and the Carpenter.

Powered By Blogger

Privacy Policy        |        Contact        |        Affiliate Marketing Disclosure and Terms

© 2002 - 2023 Leather Bound Treasure