Len Deighton

Franklin Library Len Deighton books

The Ipcress File - Franklin Mystery series - 1988
Hope - signed frist edition - 1996
Charity - signed first edition - 1996

Author Len Deighton

Len Deighton, born Leonard Cyril Deighton on February 18, 1929, is a British author, historian, and illustrator renowned for his influential contributions to the espionage thriller genre. Born in Marylebone, London, Deighton's early life was marked by the impact of World War II, during which he experienced the Blitz and the rationing that characterized post-war Britain. These experiences would later influence his writing, particularly in his depiction of the Cold War era. Deighton's career began in the field of illustration and graphic design. He studied at the Royal College of Art and initially worked as a magazine illustrator, gaining valuable visual storytelling skills that would later enhance his writing. His transition to writing came with his debut novel, The Ipcress File, published in 1962. This novel, featuring the iconic and nameless spy later dubbed Harry Palmer in film adaptations, marked a departure from the glamorous and romanticized portrayal of espionage prevalent at the time. Deighton's work brought a gritty and realistic edge to the genre, influencing a new wave of spy fiction.

The Ipcress File was followed by a series of successful novels, including Horse Under Water (1963) and Funeral in Berlin (1964), which further solidified Deighton's reputation as a master of the spy thriller. His works often showcased meticulous research, intricate plots, and a distinctive narrative style.

In addition to his spy fiction, Deighton has explored other genres and mediums. He wrote historical novels such as Bomber (1970), which depicted the events of a single raid during World War II from multiple perspectives. His writing also extended to screenplays, with notable contributions to film adaptations of his own works and other projects.

Deighton's impact on the literary world goes beyond his fiction. He has delved into military history with works like Fighter: The True Story of the Battle of Britain (1977), demonstrating his versatility as an author. His ability to blend historical accuracy with compelling storytelling has earned him widespread acclaim. Over the years, Len Deighton's influence has endured, and his contributions to the espionage genre have left an indelible mark. His novels have been adapted into successful films and television series, contributing to his legacy as a key figure in the world of spy fiction. Len Deighton's literary career continues to be celebrated, and readers continue to appreciate the enduring appeal of his works. 


The Ipcress File - Secret File Series Book 1

Len Deighton’s classic first novel, whose protagonist is a nameless spy later christened Harry Palmer and made famous worldwide in the iconic 1960s film starring Michael Caine.

The Ipcress File was not only Len Deighton’s first novel, it was his first bestseller and the book that broke the mould of thriller writing.

For the working class narrator, an apparently straightforward mission to find a missing biochemist becomes a journey to the heart of a dark and deadly conspiracy.

The film of The Ipcress File gave Michael Caine one of his first and still most celebrated starring roles, while the novel itself has become a classic.

Hope - Bernard Samson Series Book 8

Master spy Bernard Samson is back and in top form once again in bestselling author Len Deighton's new thriller trilogy. As the Berlin Wall Begins to crumble, Bernard Samson is caught up in an ever changing situation and the devious squabbles that infest the service. And as cold war loyalties shift in the freezing wind, Samson is forced back into the "game" he longs to leave, this time without the certainty that evil lurks only on the other side.Caught between his job and his ethics, his past and his future, and the two women he loves, trapped in a maze of deception and danger where nothing is what it seems any longer, Samson undertakes his most dazzling mission yet one that leads him from the seeming innocence of rural Poland, to the dubious heart of civilization that is London Central.In the end, he has only himself to depend on, only hope to keep him from harm.

Charity - Bernard Samson Series Book 9

For Bernard Samson, the end is near.In the concluding volume of Len Deighton's superb trilogy that began with Faith and Hope, Bernard Samson continues to peel away the mystery surrounding the cold-blooded murder of his sister-in-law, Tessa, on the streets of Berlin. Although his wife, Fiona, has come back from the cold and is now in the West, his family is in tatters, and Samson has no where to turn for answers. Only his childhood friend Werner Volkman seems to offer the charity that Samson craves, but Volkmann is reluctant to get involved with any quest for the truth, no matter who is doing the asking. And as always, hovering above all Samson does and tries to be is the persistent memory of his father a deadly force to be reckoned with, even now.

Deighton's back and better than ever. Packed with action, incident and intrigue, Charity brings to a triumphant conclusion a series of 10 novels that represents one of the greatest achievements in modern fiction.


No comments:

Post a Comment

Share your best book review and recommendation

Best books in order by author list:

A    B    C    D    E    F    G    H    I    J    K    L    M    N    O    P    Q    R    S    T    U    V    W    X    Y    Z

Privacy Policy        |        Terms and Disclosure        |        Contact        |        About        |        Best Book Categories        |        Framed Tributes

© 2002 - 2024 Leather Bound Treasure