John P. Marquand Books

John P. Marquand Mr. Moto's Three Aces

Franklin Library John P. Marquand books:
Mr. Moto's Three Aces - Collected Stories of the World's Greatest Writers - 1980
The Late George Apley - Pulitzer Prize Classics -1984
Thank you Mr. Moto and Mr. Moto is so sorry - Library of Mystery Masterpieces - 1989

John Phillips Marquand (1893-1960) was an American writer who was born in Wilmington, Delaware, attended Harvard University. John P. Marquand was assistant to the managing editor of the Boston Transcript from 1915 to 1917 and worked in the Sunday department of the New York Herald Tribute in 1919 and 1920. The first of John P. Marquand books was The Unspeakable Gentleman (1922). As a writer of American detective stories, John P. Marquand was known for his creation of the fictional Japanese detective Mr. Moto, the main character in Thank You, Mr Moto (1936) and other detective stories by John P. Marquand. His most successful books satirized middle class society, particularly in that of Boston middle class; they include The Late George Apley (1937), which won John P. Marquand a Pulitzer Prize in 1938; Wickford Point (1939); and H. M. Pulham, Esq. (1941). Other books by John P. Marquand include So Little Time (1943), Repeat in Haste (1945), B.F.'s Daughter (1946), Point of No Return (1949), Melvin Goodwin, USA (1951), Sincerely, Willis Wayde (1955), and Life at Happy Knoll (1957).

Powered By Blogger

Privacy Policy        |        Contact        |        Affiliate Marketing Disclosure and Terms

© 2002 - 2023 Leather Bound Treasure