Jean M. Auel

Easton Press Jean M. Auel books

Clan of the Cave Bear - signed modern classic - 2012

Jean M. Auel biography

Jean Marie Auel, born on February 18, 1936, in Chicago, Illinois, was an American author best known for her Earth's Children series, a prehistoric fiction series that captivated readers with its vivid portrayal of life during the Paleolithic era. Auel's early life and diverse experiences greatly influenced her writing and contributed to the success of her novels. Growing up in Chicago, Auel developed an early fascination with anthropology, archaeology, and the natural world. These interests would later become integral to her literary endeavors. She attended the University of Portland and later transferred to the University of Connecticut, where she earned a degree in business administration and accounting. Auel's academic background was unconventional for a novelist in prehistoric fiction, but it offered a unique perspective that added depth to her storytelling. After completing her education, Auel worked in corporate America, gaining experience in various fields such as technology and finance. However, her passion for prehistoric history and anthropology persisted. Inspired by her interest in the subject matter, she embarked on a journey to research and understand the prehistoric world.

Auel's literary career began with her debut novel, The Clan of the Cave Bear, published in 1980. This novel marked the first installment in the Earth's Children series, which eventually comprised six books. The series, set in prehistoric Europe, follows the adventures of Ayla, a young Cro-Magnon girl orphaned and raised by Neanderthals. The Clan of the Cave Bear was a literary phenomenon, receiving widespread acclaim for its meticulous research, vivid descriptions of prehistoric life, and strong, independent female protagonist. Auel's storytelling combined elements of history, anthropology, and adventure, creating a compelling narrative that resonated with a broad audience.

The subsequent novels in the Earth's Children series, including The Valley of Horses, The Mammoth Hunters, The Plains of Passage, The Shelters of Stone, and The Land of Painted Caves, continued Auel's exploration of prehistoric cultures and the challenges faced by her characters. While the series garnered a massive following, it also faced criticism for its length and detailed descriptions. Jean M. Auel's contributions to historical fiction earned her a dedicated readership and international recognition. Her novels sold millions of copies worldwide and were translated into numerous languages. Despite the lengthy gaps between some of her later books, Auel's impact on the historical fiction genre and her ability to transport readers to the distant past solidified her place as a prominent author in the literary world.

Jean M. Auel passed away on April 28, 2019, but her legacy lives on through the Earth's Children series, which remains a significant achievement in the realm of historical fiction. Her work continues to captivate readers, offering a unique blend of entertainment, education, and a vivid journey into the ancient world.

Clan of the Cave Bear

This novel of awesome beauty and power is a moving saga about people, relationships, and the boundaries of love. Through Jean M. Auel’s magnificent storytelling we are taken back to the dawn of modern humans, and with a girl named Ayla we are swept up in the harsh and beautiful Ice Age world they shared with the ones who called themselves The Clan of the Cave Bear.

A natural disaster leaves the young girl wandering alone in an unfamiliar and dangerous land until she is found by a woman of the Clan, people very different from her own kind. To them, blond, blue-eyed Ayla looks peculiar and ugly she is one of the Others, those who have moved into their ancient homeland; but Iza cannot leave the girl to die and takes her with them. Iza and Creb, the old Mog-ur, grow to love her, and as Ayla learns the ways of the Clan and Iza’s way of healing, most come to accept her. But the brutal and proud youth who is destined to become their next leader sees her differences as a threat to his authority. He develops a deep and abiding hatred for the strange girl of the Others who lives in their midst, and is determined to get his revenge.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Share your best book review and recommendation

Best books in order by author list:

A    B    C    D    E    F    G    H    I    J    K    L    M    N    O    P    Q    R    S    T    U    V    W    X    Y    Z

Privacy Policy        |        Terms and Disclosure        |        Contact        |        About        |        Best Book Categories        |        Framed Tributes

© 2002 - 2024 Leather Bound Treasure