Jane Addams Books

Jane Addams

Easton Press Jane Addams books:
Twenty Years At Hull House - 1991

Franklin Library Jane Addams books:

Twenty Years at Hull House - 100 Greatest Masterpieces of American Literature - 1981
Jane Addams (1860-1935), American social- settlement worker, born in Cedarville, Ill., and educated at Rockford Female Seminary, Woman's Medical College (Philadelphia, Pa.), and in Europe. With Ellen Gates Starr, in 1889, Jane Addams established Hull House in Chicago, the leading social settlement, and first of its kind, in the United States. She took a prominent part in the formation of the National Progressive Party in 1912 and of the Woman's Peace Party, of which she became chairman in 1915. Jane Addams was elected president of the International Congress of Women at The Hague in the same year, and president of the Women's International League for Peace and Freedom, which was established by the Hague congress. She was a delegate to similar congresses held in Zurich (1919), Vienna (1921), The Hague (1922), Washington, D.C. (1924), Dublin (1926), and Prague (1929).
Jane Addams won the Nobel Peace Prize in 1931, sharing the award with the American educator Nicholas Murray Butler. 
Twenty Years at Hull House is the story of the Hull House settlement by its founder Jane Addams. The settlement movement, which gained popularity first in London at the end of the 19th century, soon spread to the United States and was principally involved in improving the lives of the urban poor by providing opportunities for higher education and essential social services. Hull House, one of the most famous of the "settlement houses", was located in the Near West Side community area of Chicago and was run by Jane Addams until her death in 1935. "Twenty Years at Hull House" is an important narrative of the settlement movement in the United States, which contributed significantly to the advancement of poor and working class peoples.

Leather bound books by author list:

A    B    C    D    E    F    G    H    I    J    K    L    M    N    O    P    Q    R    S    T    U    V    W    X    Y    Z

Privacy Policy        |        Terms and Disclosure        |        Contact        |        About        |        Book Categories        |        Framed Tributes

© 2002 - 2023 Leather Bound Treasure