James P. Blaylock

Easton Press James P. Blaylock books

The Paper Grail - Signed First Edition of Science Fiction - 1991
All the Bells on Earth - Signed First Editions of Science Fiction - 1995


James P. Blaylock biography

James Paul Blaylock, born on September 20, 1950, in Long Beach, California, is an American fantasy author renowned for his contributions to the steampunk genre. His life and literary career have been marked by a deep fascination with the fantastical and the whimsical, leading him to become a prominent figure in speculative fiction. Blaylock's early interest in literature and the fantastical was nurtured during his time at California State University, Fullerton, where he earned his Bachelor's and Master's degrees in English. It was during these formative years that he developed a close friendship and collaborative relationship with fellow writer Tim Powers. The two would go on to be key figures in the development of steampunk, a genre characterized by its Victorian-era settings and advanced steam-powered technology.

In 1978, Blaylock published his first novel, The Elfin Ship, a work that showcased his distinctive blend of whimsy, humor, and fantasy. This novel, along with subsequent works like The Disappearing Dwarf (1983) and Homunculus (1986), contributed to the establishment of Blaylock as a leading voice in steampunk literature. Blaylock's writing often features quirky characters, intricate plots, and a touch of the supernatural. His novel Lord Kelvin's Machine (1992) exemplifies his mastery of the steampunk aesthetic, weaving together elements of adventure, mystery, and Victorian atmosphere.

Beyond his novels, Blaylock has also contributed short stories to various anthologies and magazines, showcasing the versatility of his storytelling within the speculative fiction realm. James P. Blaylock's influence on the steampunk genre extends to his role as a teacher. He taught creative writing at Chapman University in Orange, California, where he inspired aspiring writers to explore the realms of fantasy and imagination. Over the course of his career, Blaylock has received recognition for his contributions to speculative fiction. His novel Homunculus won the Philip K. Dick Award in 1986, solidifying his reputation as a noteworthy author in the genre.

James P. Blaylock's dedication to crafting imaginative and whimsical tales has endeared him to readers of speculative fiction. His impact on the steampunk movement, along with his collaborations with notable authors like Tim Powers, has left an enduring mark on the literary landscape, earning him a place among the celebrated figures in the realm of fantasy literature.


The Paper Grail - The Christian Trilogy Book 2

Curator Howard Barton goes to Mendocino, California, to get a 19th-century woodcut sketch for his museum back home. But other, rather strange, people want the sketch for their own dubious purposes. Now Howard's caught in the middle of a secret war that somehow involves a piece of paper that is much more than it seems.


All the Bells on Earth - The Christian Trilogy Book 3

Three people in the town of Orange, California, confront bizarre instances of evil in their own backyards and learn that the battle between good and evil goes on every day right in front of them.

Best books in order by author list:

A    B    C    D    E    F    G    H    I    J    K    L    M    N    O    P    Q    R    S    T    U    V    W    X    Y    Z

Privacy Policy        |        Terms and Disclosure        |        Contact        |        About        |        Best Book Categories        |        Framed Tributes

© 2002 - 2024 Leather Bound Treasure