James A. Michener

Easton Press James A. Michener books

Hawaii  ( 2 volumes ) - 1988
Chesapeake ( 2 volumes ) - 1989
The Source ( 2 volumes ) - 1989
The Bridges of Toko-Ri - 1990
The Covenant ( 2 volumes ) - 1990
Space ( 2 volumes ) - 1990
Texas - 1992

Franklin Library James A. Michener books

The Covenant - limited first edition ( not signed ) - 1980
Tales of the South Pacific - collected stories of the worlds greatest writers - 1982
Tales of the South Pacific - Pulitzer Prize classics - 1986
Recessional - signed first edition - 1994

James A. Michener biography

James Albert Michener was an American author, teacher, and war historian, known for his epic novels that chronicled the history, culture, and geography of various regions around the world. Born on February 3, 1907, in New York City, Michener's life journey took him from humble beginnings to becoming one of the most celebrated and prolific writers of the 20th century. He passed away on October 16, 1997, in Austin, Texas. Raised in an orphanage, Michener's early years were marked by adversity, but he found solace and inspiration in books and education. He attended Swarthmore College, where he studied English literature and graduated summa cum laude in 1929. Following his graduation, Michener embarked on a journey of exploration and discovery, traveling extensively and working odd jobs to support himself. He later held teaching positions at a number of institutions, including George School in Pennsylvania, and gained respect as a teacher and author in the area of social studies. Following the start of World War Two, Michener joined the United States Navy and served in the Pacific theater.

Drawing from his experience during World War Two, James A. Michener wrote one of his most famous books Tales of The South Pacific (1947). Winning the Pulitzer Prize in 1948, Tales of The South Pacific had sold over 2,000,000 copies in the first ten years after being published, and is considered a classic of American Literature. The musical play South Pacific (1949) which was based on Tales of The South Pacific by James A. Michener became one of the most successful plays in American history. Other notable books by Michener include The Fires of Spring (1949), Return To Paradise (1951), The Bridges at Toko-ri (1953), Sayonara (1954), The Floating World (1954), The Bridge at Andau (1957) about the Hungarian revolution of 1956; True Tales of South Pacific Islanders, Rascals in Paradise (1957); Hawaii (1959); Caravans (1963) dealing with Japans wood block prints; The Source (1965); A. Michener Miscellany: 1950–1970 (1973); Chesapeake (1978); The Covenant (1980); Space (1982); Poland (1983); Texas (1985); Alaska (1988); Mexico (1992); The World Is My Home: A Memoir (1992); Recessional (1994); Miracle in Seville (1995); and This Noble Land (1996).

Throughout his career, Michener became known for his meticulously researched and sprawling novels, which often spanned generations and centuries, offering panoramic views of the places and peoples he depicted. His novels were characterized by richly drawn characters, detailed historical backgrounds, and vivid descriptions of landscapes and cultures.

Some of Michener's most famous works include Hawaii (1959), The Source (1965), Centennial (1974), and Texas (1985). These novels exemplify Michener's talent for weaving together the threads of history, geography, and human experience into compelling narratives that resonate with readers on both an intellectual and emotional level.

In addition to his novels, Michener also wrote non-fiction works, essays, and memoirs, further showcasing his versatility as a writer and his deep understanding of various subjects. He was known for his commitment to thorough research and his dedication to presenting an accurate and nuanced portrayal of the topics he explored. Over the course of his prolific career, Michener received numerous awards and honors, including the Presidential Medal of Freedom in 1977. He also established himself as a philanthropist, donating generously to educational institutions and causes dear to his heart. James A. Michener's legacy as a writer and storyteller endures, with his books continuing to captivate readers around the world. His epic novels serve as both entertaining sagas and valuable explorations of history, culture, and the human condition, ensuring his place among the literary giants of the 20th century.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Share your best book review and recommendation

Best books in order by author list:

A    B    C    D    E    F    G    H    I    J    K    L    M    N    O    P    Q    R    S    T    U    V    W    X    Y    Z

Privacy Policy        |        Terms and Disclosure        |        Contact        |        About        |        Best Book Categories        |        Framed Tributes

© 2002 - 2024 Leather Bound Treasure