James McGregor Burns

President Franklin D. Roosevelt

Easton Press James McGregor Burns books

Roosevelt - 2 volumes - Library of Presidents - 1985
Vol. 1 - The Lion and The Fox
Vol. 2 - The Soldier of Freedom

The Crosswinds of Freedom - signed first edition - 1989

President Franklin D. Roosevelt books

James McGregor Burns biography

James MacGregor Burns, a distinguished American political scientist, historian, and biographer, was born on August 3, 1918, in Melrose, Massachusetts. Over the course of his prolific career, Burns made significant contributions to the fields of political science and leadership studies, leaving an indelible mark on academia and the understanding of political leadership. Burns received his undergraduate education at Williams College and went on to earn his Ph.D. in political science from Harvard University. His academic pursuits were briefly interrupted by his service in the Army during World War II, where he earned a Bronze Star.

In the realm of political science, Burns became known for his insightful analyses of American government and political leadership. He held academic positions at Williams College, Rutgers University, and the University of Maryland, where he engaged in both teaching and research. His early works, including Congress on Trial: The Legislative Process and the Administrative State (1949) and Roosevelt: The Lion and the Fox (1956), demonstrated his keen intellect and interest in understanding the dynamics of political power. One of Burns's most influential contributions to political science came with his groundbreaking work on leadership theory. His seminal book Leadership (1978) explored the concept of transformational leadership, emphasizing the importance of leaders who inspire and motivate followers to achieve their full potential. The book had a profound impact on leadership studies and became a classic in the field.

Beyond his scholarly pursuits, Burns was actively involved in public service. He served as a consultant to various government agencies and was a sought-after commentator on political matters. His insights into the American presidency and political leadership were highly valued, reflecting his deep understanding of the complexities of governance. In addition to his scholarship on political leadership, Burns authored biographies of key figures in American history. His biography of Franklin D. Roosevelt, Roosevelt: The Soldier of Freedom (1970), won the Pulitzer Prize and the National Book Award.

James MacGregor Burns's commitment to intellectual rigor and his ability to bridge the worlds of academia and public discourse left an enduring legacy. His influence extended beyond the confines of the university, impacting how scholars, students, and practitioners think about leadership and political dynamics. James MacGregor Burns passed away on July 15, 2014, but his contributions to political science and leadership studies continue to shape our understanding of governance and effective leadership.

The Crosswinds of Freedom

Looks at developments in American history from the Roosevelt administration to the Reagan administration, and discusses the ways leaders and ordinary people have pursued freedom

No comments:

Post a Comment

Share your best book review and recommendation

Best books in order by author list:

A    B    C    D    E    F    G    H    I    J    K    L    M    N    O    P    Q    R    S    T    U    V    W    X    Y    Z

Privacy Policy        |        Terms and Disclosure        |        Contact        |        About        |        Best Book Categories        |        Framed Tributes

© 2002 - 2024 Leather Bound Treasure