Jack Finney

Easton Press Jack Finney books

The Invasion of The Body Snatchers - Masterpieces of Science Fiction - 1992
Time and Again - 2013


Author Jack Finney

Jack Finney, born on October 2, 1911, was an American author best known for his contributions to science fiction and speculative fiction. He grew up in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, and showed an early interest in writing. Finney attended Knox College in Illinois, where he studied English and graduated in 1934. After completing his education, Finney worked as a copywriter for various advertising agencies in New York City. Although he had a successful career in advertising, his true passion lay in writing fiction. In the early 1940s, he began to publish short stories in popular magazines like Collier's and The Saturday Evening Post.

Finney gained widespread recognition with the publication of his first novel, Five Against the House, in 1954. However, he truly made his mark on the literary world with the release of The Body Snatchers in 1955. This novel, later adapted into several successful films, including the iconic Invasion of the Body Snatchers, explores the theme of alien infiltration and has become a classic in the science fiction genre. Throughout his career, Jack Finney continued to produce works that blended science fiction with elements of mystery and fantasy. His writing often delved into the consequences of societal conformity and the impact of technological advancements on human life. Notable works include Time and Again (1970), a time travel novel set in both 19th-century New York and the present day, and its sequel, From Time to Time (1995).

Finney's writing style was characterized by its engaging storytelling, well-developed characters, and a keen sense of nostalgia. His ability to blend speculative elements with relatable human experiences endeared him to a wide readership. Jack Finney passed away on November 14, 1995, leaving behind a legacy of influential works that continue to captivate readers and inspire creators in the realms of science fiction and fantasy.


Invasion of The Body Snatchers

On a quiet fall evening in the small, peaceful town of Mill Valley, California, Dr. Miles Bennell discovered an insidious, horrifying plot. Silently, subtly, almost imperceptibly, alien life-forms were taking over the bodies and minds of his neighbors, his friends, his family, the woman he loved the world as he knew it. First published in 1955, this classic thriller of the ultimate alien invasion and the triumph of the human spirit over an invisible enemy inspired three major motion pictures.

Time and Again - Time series book 1

One of the most beloved tales of our time!
Science fiction, mystery, a passionate love story, and a detailed history of Old New York blend together in Jack Finney's spellbinding story of a young man enlisted in a secret government experiment.

Transported from the mid-twentieth century to New York City in the year 1882, Si Morley walks the fashionable "Ladies' Mile" of Broadway, is enchanted by the jingling sleigh bells in Central Park, and solves a 20th-century mystery by discovering its 19th-century roots. Falling in love with a beautiful young woman, he ultimately finds himself forced to choose between his lives in the present and the past.

A story that will remain in the listener's memory, Time and Again is a remarkable blending of the troubled present and a nostalgic past, made vivid and extraordinarily moving by the images of a time that was and perhaps still is.

Si Morley is marking time: he's bored with his job as a commercial artist, and his social life doesn't seem to be going anywhere. So when he's approached by an affable ex-football star and told that he's just what the government is looking for to be part of a a top secret project, he doesn't hesitate for long. And one night he steps out of his twentieth-century New York apartment into the winter of 1882, and finds a kind of Eden. Or does he?


No comments:

Post a Comment

Share your best book review and recommendation

Best books in order by author list:

A    B    C    D    E    F    G    H    I    J    K    L    M    N    O    P    Q    R    S    T    U    V    W    X    Y    Z

Privacy Policy        |        Terms and Disclosure        |        Contact        |        About        |        Best Book Categories        |        Framed Tributes

© 2002 - 2024 Leather Bound Treasure