Irving Stone

Franklin Library Irving Stone books

Agony and the Ecstasy: a novel of Michaelangelo - signed limited edition - 1977
The Origin: a novel of Charles Darwin - limited first edition (not signed) - 1980
Lust For Life - World's Best Loved Books - 1980
Lust for Life: a novel of Vincent Van Gogh - signed limited edition - 1981
Depths of Glory: a novel of Camille Pissaro - signed first edition - 1985


Writer Irving Stone

Irving Stone, born on July 14, 1903, in San Francisco, California, was an American writer known for his biographical novels. He was raised in a family deeply involved in literature and education, fostering his early passion for writing and storytelling. After completing his education, Stone embarked on a career as a writer, initially focusing on plays and short stories. Stone's breakthrough came with the publication of his first major work, Lust for Life, in 1934. This novel depicted the life of the renowned Dutch painter Vincent van Gogh and showcased Stone's unique approach to blending historical accuracy with compelling narrative storytelling. Lust for Life was met with critical acclaim and commercial success, establishing Stone as a prominent figure in the realm of biographical fiction. Throughout his career, Stone continued to produce a series of bestselling biographical novels, each meticulously researched and vividly narrated. His works often delved into the lives of celebrated artists and intellectuals, including Michelangelo, Sigmund Freud, and Charles Darwin, among others. Stone's ability to humanize these iconic figures, exploring their personal struggles and triumphs, resonated deeply with readers worldwide.

Beyond his literary endeavors, Irving Stone was known for his dedication to thorough research, often immersing himself in the environments and histories of his subjects. His commitment to authenticity and detail was evident in his writing, earning him praise for the depth and richness of his portrayals. Irving Stone's impact on the literary world extended beyond his own writings, as his works inspired numerous adaptations, including stage productions and film adaptations. His legacy endures as a testament to the power of storytelling to illuminate the lives of extraordinary individuals and to captivate the imagination of audiences across generations. Irving Stone passed away on August 26, 1989, leaving behind a legacy of literary achievement and a body of work that continues to inspire and captivate readers around the world.


Best books in order by author list:

A    B    C    D    E    F    G    H    I    J    K    L    M    N    O    P    Q    R    S    T    U    V    W    X    Y    Z

Privacy Policy        |        Terms and Disclosure        |        Contact        |        About        |        Best Book Categories        |        Framed Tributes

© 2002 - 2024 Leather Bound Treasure