H.P. Lovecraft

Easton Press H.P. Lovecraft books

The Dunwich Horror and Others - Masterpieces of Science Fiction - 1993
At The Mountains Of Madness - Horror Classics - 2006

Author H.P. Lovecraft

Howard Phillips Lovecraft, known to the literary world as H.P. Lovecraft, was an American writer born on August 20, 1890, in Providence, Rhode Island. Lovecraft is best remembered as one of the most influential authors of horror fiction in the 20th century, with his tales of cosmic horror and otherworldly beings leaving an indelible mark on the genre. Raised in a middle-class family, Lovecraft's early years were marked by tragedy and solitude. His father suffered from mental illness and was institutionalized when Lovecraft was just three years old, leaving him to be raised by his mother and aunts. Lovecraft was a precocious child with a keen interest in literature and science, devouring the works of Edgar Allan Poe, Lord Dunsany, and Arthur Machen, among others.

Lovecraft's literary career began in the early 20th century, with his first published stories appearing in pulp magazines such as Weird Tales. He is best known for creating what would later become known as the Cthulhu Mythos, a fictional universe populated by ancient gods, cosmic entities, and eldritch horrors beyond human comprehension. His most famous works include The Call of Cthulhu, At the Mountains of Madness, and The Shadow over Innsmouth. Lovecraft's writing was characterized by his vivid imagination, meticulous attention to detail, and mastery of atmosphere. He eschewed traditional horror tropes in favor of a more psychological approach, exploring themes of cosmic insignificance, forbidden knowledge, and the fragility of the human mind. His prose was often dense and archaic, reflecting his love of antiquarianism and his disdain for modernity.

Despite his literary talent, Lovecraft struggled with poverty and obscurity throughout much of his life. He was largely unknown outside of pulp fiction circles during his lifetime and struggled to find commercial success as a writer. It wasn't until after his death in 1937, at the age of 46, that Lovecraft's work began to gain widespread recognition and appreciation. Today, Lovecraft is celebrated as one of the most important figures in the history of horror fiction, with his influence extending far beyond the written word. His creations have inspired countless authors, filmmakers, artists, and musicians, shaping the landscape of popular culture in profound and enduring ways. Lovecraft's legacy as a master of the macabre continues to captivate and terrify readers around the world, ensuring that his name will be remembered for generations to come.

H.P. Lovecraft's cat name

H.P. Lovecraft famously had a cat named "Ni**er-Man." This name is considered extremely offensive and racially insensitive. It's important to recognize that the use of this term is unacceptable and disrespectful. Some modern adaptations and discussions of Lovecraft's life choose not to mention the name of his cat, or they refer to it something other than "Ni**er-Man" to acknowledge its derogatory nature while providing context.

Best books in order by author list:

A    B    C    D    E    F    G    H    I    J    K    L    M    N    O    P    Q    R    S    T    U    V    W    X    Y    Z

Privacy Policy        |        Terms and Disclosure        |        Contact        |        About        |        Best Book Categories        |        Framed Tributes

© 2002 - 2024 Leather Bound Treasure