Henry Fielding Books

Tom Jones Henry Fielding

Easton Press Henry Fielding books:
The History of Tom Jones  - 1979

Franklin Library Henry Fielding books:
The History of Tom Jones - World's Best Loved Books - 1978
The History of Tom Jones - 100 Greatest Books of All Time -1979
The History of Tom Jones - Great Books of the Western World - 2 Books 1981

Fielding, Henry (1707-54), English jurist and author, born near Glastonbury, Somersetshire, and educated at Eton and at the University of Leyden, Holland. He wrote and produced theatrical comedies, the best of which are The Tragedy of Tragedies, or Tom Thumb (1730), and the social satires Pasquin (1736) and The Historical Register for 1736 (1737). He was called to the bar in 1740 and in 1748 became justice of the peace for Westminster, where he served as chairman of quarter sessions in 1749. As justice of the peace, he was seriously concerned with the elimination of such social problems as ruffianism. This concern is manifested in his novel Amelia (1751) and in a pamphlet entitled An Enquiry into the Causes of the Late Increase of Robbers (1751). Henry Fielding wrote essays on political and other subjects and had them published in The Covent Garden Journal, name Sir Alexander Drawcansir. The greatest contribution made to English literature by Fielding was his novels. Fielding's first novel, Joseph Andrews (1741), was originally intended to be a parody on Pamela, by Samuel Richardson, but Henry Fielding became so interested in the portrayal of several secondary characters, that his skillful characterizations almost eclipse his clever parody. Fielding strove to draw his characters from all levels of society and considered his novels the prose prototype of the mock epic. Henry Fielding is outstanding among the early English novelist for his ability to evolve a plot which, although it contains the variety of picaresque romance, unfolds in a unified and coherent manner. This ability is best exemplified in his chief work, Tom Jones (1749). Among his other writings are Miscellanies (3 vols., 1743), which include the satirical works The History of the Life of the Late Mr. Jonathon the Life of the Late Mr. Jonathan Wild the Great and A Journey from this World to the Next; and Journal of a Voyage to Lisbon, which was published posthumously.

Powered By Blogger

Privacy Policy        |        Contact        |        Affiliate Marketing Disclosure and Terms

© 2002 - 2023 Leather Bound Treasure