H. L. Davis

Franklin Library Harold L. Davis books

Honey in the Horn - Library of Pulitzer Prize Classics - 1977


H. L. Davis biography

Harold Lenoir Davis, commonly known as H. L. Davis, was an American author and poet born on October 18, 1894, in Yoncalla, Oregon, and he passed away on October 31, 1960. He is best known for his contributions to American literature, particularly for his novel Honey in the Horn, which earned him the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction in 1936. Davis spent his early years in the Pacific Northwest, and the region's landscape and culture strongly influenced his writing. Before gaining recognition as a novelist, Davis worked in various jobs, including logging and teaching. His firsthand experiences with the rugged landscapes and people of the region played a significant role in shaping the themes and characters of his literary works.

Honey in the Horn, published in 1935, is considered H. L. Davis's most significant work. The novel, set in Oregon, explores the challenges and adventures of homesteaders in the early 20th century. Its vivid portrayal of the Oregon frontier, combined with Davis's distinctive prose style, garnered critical acclaim and ultimately led to the Pulitzer Prize recognition. Apart from his Pulitzer Prize-winning novel, Davis wrote several other novels, essays, and poems throughout his career. However, none achieved the same level of acclaim as "Honey in the Horn." Davis's literary contributions reflect a deep connection to the American West and an insightful exploration of its history and culture. H. L. Davis's impact on American literature, especially in capturing the spirit of the Pacific Northwest, remains noteworthy. While he might not be as widely known as some other literary figures, his Pulitzer Prize-winning work ensures his place in the annals of American literary history.


Honey in the Horn

Honey in the Horn is a novel about life in the homesteading days of Oregon, 1906-1908. It is about the coming of age of an orphan boy named Clay Calvert, but it is also the about the trials of the pioneers who came to Oregon following the American Dream. Through the characters that Clay meets along the way, the author introduces the readers to the various occupations of the settlers of that era.


No comments:

Post a Comment

Share your best book review and recommendation

Best books in order by author list:

A    B    C    D    E    F    G    H    I    J    K    L    M    N    O    P    Q    R    S    T    U    V    W    X    Y    Z

Privacy Policy        |        Terms and Disclosure        |        Contact        |        About        |        Best Book Categories        |        Framed Tributes

© 2002 - 2024 Leather Bound Treasure