Harlan Ellison

Easton Press Harlan Ellison books

Angry Candy - Signed First Edition of Science Fiction - 1988
Deathbird Stories - Masterpieces of Science Fiction - 1990
I, Robot : The Illustrated Screenplay - co-authored with Isaac Asimov and signed by Ellison - 1994


Writer Harlan Ellison

Harlan Jay Ellison, born on May 27, 1934, was an American author, editor, and screenwriter known for his prolific and influential contributions to speculative fiction, encompassing science fiction, fantasy, and horror genres. Born in Cleveland, Ohio, Ellison's early life was marked by a challenging childhood. His passion for storytelling emerged at an early age, and by his teens, he was publishing short stories in pulp magazines. Ellison's writing style was characterized by its sharp wit, imaginative concepts, and a fearless exploration of societal issues. He was unafraid to address controversial and thought-provoking themes in his works. One of his most famous stories, I Have No Mouth, and I Must Scream, published in 1967, exemplifies his ability to blend speculative elements with profound examinations of human nature.

Throughout his career, Ellison penned numerous short stories, novellas, and novels, earning accolades for his creativity and originality. His work often garnered critical acclaim and won several prestigious awards, including multiple Hugo, Nebula, and Bram Stoker Awards. In addition to his solo writing career, Ellison made a significant impact on the science fiction genre as an editor. He edited anthologies and served as the editor of the groundbreaking speculative fiction anthology series Dangerous Visions (1967) and its sequel Again, Dangerous Visions (1972). These anthologies showcased diverse and innovative voices, challenging conventions in the genre.

Beyond literature, Ellison ventured into television and film. He wrote scripts for various television shows, including episodes for The Outer Limits and Star Trek. One of his most famous contributions to Star Trek was the episode titled The City on the Edge of Forever, which remains widely regarded as one of the series' finest.

Harlan Ellison was involved in a legal dispute related to The Terminator, a popular science fiction film released in 1984, directed by James Cameron and starring Arnold Schwarzenegger. Ellison claimed that The Terminator had plagiarized elements from his own works, specifically two episodes of the television series The Outer Limits that he had written. The episodes in question were Soldier (aired in 1964) and Demon with a Glass Hand (aired in 1964). Ellison argued that certain concepts, themes, and even specific dialogues from these episodes were used without permission in The Terminator. He filed a lawsuit against Hemdale Film Corporation, the production company behind the movie, alleging copyright infringement.

The legal dispute was eventually settled out of court, and the details of the settlement have not been publicly disclosed. However, in subsequent releases of The Terminator on home video and other formats, acknowledgment was given to Harlan Ellison for his contributions to the concepts used in the film. On some versions, there is a credit that reads: "Acknowledgment to the works of Harlan Ellison." This acknowledgment reflects the resolution of the legal matter between Ellison and the creators of The Terminator. Despite the dispute, the film went on to become a massive success and a cultural phenomenon, spawning a franchise with several sequels and related media.

Harlan Ellison was known not only for his creative talent but also for his combative and outspoken personality. He was a fierce advocate for writers' rights and often engaged in legal battles to protect intellectual property. Despite his reputation for being contentious, Ellison's impact on speculative fiction and his dedication to pushing boundaries in storytelling are widely acknowledged. Harlan Ellison passed away on June 28, 2018, leaving behind a legacy of groundbreaking and influential contributions to the world of speculative fiction. His work continues to inspire new generations of writers and readers, showcasing the power of storytelling to challenge and expand our understanding of the human experience.


Angry Candy

The Seattle Times said of Angry Candy: "Ellison's stories rattle the bars of complacency that people put around their souls . . . Razor sharp . . . piercingly profound." Once again, Ellison's writing defies all labels. These seventeen stories by a modern master are an "assembled artifact" of anger and faith as bittersweet as a"jalapeno-laced cinnamon bear." The sixteen stories collected here are spread over the farthest stretches of time and space, but even the bleakest of them is warmed by a passionate faith in the endurance of life and its ultimate possibilities.

Deathbird Stories

Harlan Ellison's masterwork of myth and terror as he seduces all innocence on a mind-freezing odyssey into the darkest reaches of mortal terror and the most dazzling heights of Olympian hell in his finest collection.

Deathbird Stories is a collection of 19 of Harlan Ellison's best stories, including Edgar and Hugo winners, originally published between 1960 and 1974. The collection contains some of Ellison's best stories from earlier collections and is judged by some to be his most consistently high quality collection of short fiction. The theme of the collection can be loosely defined as God, or Gods. Sometimes they're dead or dying, some of them are as brand-new as today's technology. Unlike some of Ellison's collections, the introductory notes to each story can be as short as a phrase and rarely run more than a sentence or two. One story took a Locus Poll Award, the two final ones both garnered Hugo Awards and Locus Poll awards, and the final one also received a Jupiter Award from the Instructors of Science Fiction in Higher Education (discontinued in 1979). When the collection was published in Britain, it won the 1979 British Science Fiction Award for Short Fiction.

I, Robot - The Illustrated Screenplay

The complete screenplay adaptation of Asimov's I, Robot represents the first successful attempt to convert the popular classic while discussing why the film script never made it onto the screen. Reprint.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Share your best book review and recommendation

Best books in order by author list:

A    B    C    D    E    F    G    H    I    J    K    L    M    N    O    P    Q    R    S    T    U    V    W    X    Y    Z

Privacy Policy        |        Terms and Disclosure        |        Contact        |        About        |        Best Book Categories        |        Framed Tributes

© 2002 - 2024 Leather Bound Treasure