George Alec Effinger

Easton Press George Alec Effinger books

The Exile Kiss - Signed First Edition of Science Fiction - 1991
When Gravity Falls - Masterpieces of Science Fiction - 1993


Writer George Alec Effinger

George Alec Effinger, born on January 10, 1947, in Cleveland, Ohio, was an American science fiction and fantasy writer known for his imaginative storytelling and exploration of social and cultural themes. Effinger's life and career were marked by a passion for literature, a unique voice in speculative fiction, and a commitment to addressing complex issues within his works. Effinger's interest in writing was evident from an early age, and he pursued this passion through his education. He attended Yale University and later the University of Minnesota, where he earned his Master's degree in English. His academic pursuits laid the foundation for a career that would see him contribute significantly to the science fiction genre. Effinger's early works included short stories published in science fiction magazines, showcasing his ability to blend speculative elements with a keen understanding of human nature. In 1971, he published his first novel, What Entropy Means to Me, a unique and unconventional exploration of entropy and chaos theory.

One of Effinger's most well-known and acclaimed works is the Marîd Audran series, set in a futuristic, multicultural city called Budayeen. The series, which includes novels like When Gravity Fails (1987), A Fire in the Sun (1989), and The Exile Kiss (1991), gained recognition for its cyberpunk elements, intricate world-building, and exploration of themes such as identity, technology, and societal transformation. Effinger's writing style was characterized by a blend of humor, social commentary, and a deep understanding of the human condition. He often used speculative settings to explore issues such as cultural diversity, gender roles, and the impact of technology on society.

Despite facing health challenges, including a battle with chronic pain, Effinger continued to write and contribute to the field of speculative fiction. He received critical acclaim for his work, earning accolades such as the Hugo and Nebula Award nominations. Tragically, George Alec Effinger passed away on April 27, 2002, in New Orleans, Louisiana. His legacy endures through his thought-provoking and imaginative contributions to science fiction and fantasy literature, and his impact on the genre remains evident in the continued appreciation of his works by readers and fellow writers alike.


When Gravity Falls - Marîd Audran series book 1

In a decadent world of cheap pleasures and easy death, Marid Audrian has kept his independence the hard way. Still, like everything else in the Budayeen, he’s available…for a price.

For a new kind of killer roams the streets of the Arab ghetto, a madman whose bootlegged personality cartridges range from a sinister James Bond to a sadistic disemboweler named Khan. And Marid Audrian has been made an offer he can’t refuse.

The 200-year-old “godfather” of the Budayeen’s underworld has enlisted Marid as his instrument of vengeance. But first Marid must undergo the most sophisticated of surgical implants before he dares to confront a killer who carries the power of every psychopath since the beginning of time.

Wry, savage, and unignorable, When Gravity Fails was hailed as a classic by Effinger’s fellow science fiction writers on its original publication in 1987, and the sequence of “Marid Audrian” novels it begins were the culmination of his career.

The Exile Kiss - Marîd Audran series book 3

Marîd Audran has risen from hustling on the streets of the decadent Budayeen ghetto to being the right-hand man of one of the Maghreb's most feared men. As an enforcer for the powerful Friedlander Bey, Marîd is just beginning to enjoy his newfound wealth and privilege, when he and Bey are betrayed by a rival and accused of murder.

Sentenced to exile and abandoned to die in the vast Arabian desert, Marîd and Bey must somehow survive the searing sands and make their way back to the now-hostile Budayeen and, then, take their vengeance.

By turns thrilling and philosophical, The Exile Kiss is the culmination of one of the great works of modern science fiction.

Best books in order by author list:

A    B    C    D    E    F    G    H    I    J    K    L    M    N    O    P    Q    R    S    T    U    V    W    X    Y    Z

Privacy Policy        |        Terms and Disclosure        |        Contact        |        About        |        Best Book Categories        |        Framed Tributes

© 2002 - 2024 Leather Bound Treasure