Flannery O'Connor Books

Franklin Library Flannery O'Connor books: 
Complete Stories of Flannery O'Connor - Collected Stories of the World's Greatest Writers -  1980
A Good Man is Hard to Find and Other Stories - 20th Century's Greatest Books - 1981
Complete Stories of Flannery O'Connor - 100 Greatest Masterpieces of American Literature - 1983

A Good Man is Hard to Find
This now classic book revealed Flannery O'Connor as one of the most original and provocative writers to emerge from the South. Her apocalyptic vision of life is expressed through grotesque, often comic situations in which the principal character faces a problem of salvation: the grandmother, in the title story, confronting the murderous Misfit; a neglected four-year-old boy looking for the Kingdom of Christ in the fast-flowing waters of the river; General Sash, about to meet the final enemy. Stories include:
A Good Man Is Hard to Find
The River
The Life You Save May Be Your Own
A Stroke of Good Fortune
A Temple of the Holy Ghost
The Artificial Nigger
A Circle in the Fire
A Late Encounter with the Enemy
Good Country People
The Displaced Person

Complete Stories of Flannery O'Connor
The publication of this extraordinary volume firmly established Flannery O'Connor's monumental contribution to American fiction. There are thirty-one stories here in all, including twelve that do not appear in the only two story collections O'Connor put together in her short lifetime - Everything That Rises Must Converge and A Good Man Is Hard to Find.

O'Connor published her first story, "The Geranium," in 1946, while she was working on her master's degree at the University of Iowa. Arranged chronologically, this collection shows that her last story, "Judgement Day" - sent to her publisher shortly before her death - is a brilliantly rewritten and transfigured version of "The Geranium." Taken together, these stories reveal a lively, penetrating talent that has given us some of the most powerful and disturbing fiction of the twentieth century. Also included is an introduction by O'Connor's longtime editor and friend, Robert Giroux.
Stories include:
The Geranium
The Barber
The Crop
The Turkey
The Train
The Peeler
The Heart of the Park
A Stoke of Good Fortune
Enoch and the Gorilla
A Good Man is Hard to Find
A Late Encounter with the Enemy
The life you save may be your own
The River
A Circle in the Fire
The Displaced Person
A Temple of the Holy Ghost
The Artificial Nigger
Good Country People
You can't be any poorer than dead
A View of the Woods
The Enduring Chill
The Comforts of Home
Everything that rises must converge
The Partridge Festival
The lame shall enter first
Why do the Heathen Rage?
Parker's Back
Judgement Day.

Leather bound books by author list:

A    B    C    D    E    F    G    H    I    J    K    L    M    N    O    P    Q    R    S    T    U    V    W    X    Y    Z

Privacy Policy        |        Terms and Disclosure        |        Contact        |        About        |        Book Categories        |        Framed Tributes

© 2002 - 2023 Leather Bound Treasure