Edward E. Smith

Easton Press Edward E. Smith books

The Skylark of Space - Masterpieces of Science Fiction - 1991

Lensman Saga - six volume set - 2006 includes the following titles:
Children of The Lens
First Lensman
Galactic Patrol
Gray Lensman
Second Stage Lensman

Author Edward E. Smith

Edward Elmer Smith, better known as E.E. "Doc" Smith, was a pioneering figure in the realm of science fiction. Born on May 2, 1890, in Sheboygan, Wisconsin, Smith's imagination was ignited at an early age, inspired by the works of Jules Verne and H.G. Wells. Smith pursued higher education, earning a Ph.D. in chemical engineering from George Washington University in 1919. This academic background would later influence his writing, as scientific concepts often formed the backbone of his stories.

Despite his scientific career, Smith's true passion lay in writing speculative fiction. In 1928, he published his first novel, The Skylark of Space, co-authored with Lee Hawkins Garby. This marked the beginning of a prolific career that would define the Golden Age of science fiction. Smith's writing was characterized by grandiose space operas, featuring epic battles, advanced technologies, and cosmic adventures. His Lensman series, which began with Triplanetary in 1934, is regarded as a seminal work in the genre. The series introduced the concept of the "lens," a device that grants its wearer extraordinary powers and responsibilities in the fight against evil forces threatening the universe.

Throughout his career, Smith's storytelling captivated readers with its sense of wonder and boundless imagination. His works often explored themes of heroism, the triumph of good over evil, and the limitless potential of human ingenuity. Despite facing criticism for his simplistic prose and characterization, Smith's influence on the genre cannot be overstated. His visionary ideas laid the groundwork for many of the tropes and themes that continue to define science fiction today.

E.E. "Doc" Smith passed away on August 31, 1965, but his legacy endures through his timeless stories, which continue to inspire and entertain readers around the world. He remains a towering figure in the pantheon of science fiction literature, remembered as a pioneer whose imagination knew no bounds.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Share your best book review and recommendation

Best books in order by author list:

A    B    C    D    E    F    G    H    I    J    K    L    M    N    O    P    Q    R    S    T    U    V    W    X    Y    Z

Privacy Policy        |        Terms and Disclosure        |        Contact        |        About        |        Best Book Categories        |        Framed Tributes

© 2002 - 2024 Leather Bound Treasure