David McCullough

Easton Press David McCullough books

Mornings on Horseback - 1988
The Path Between the Seas - 2 volumes - 1990
The Johnstown Flood - 1993
Truman: A biography - 2 volumes The Library of Presidents - 1994
John Adams - 2 volumes The Library of Presidents - 2002
1776 - Signed Limited Edition - 2008

Historian David McCullough biography

David McCullough, born on July 7, 1933, in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, stands as one of America's preeminent historians and biographers. Renowned for his meticulous research, engaging prose, and ability to bring history to life, McCullough has left an indelible mark on the literary world and the collective understanding of American history. From a young age, McCullough demonstrated a passion for storytelling and a deep curiosity about the past. Raised in a household that valued education and intellectual pursuits, he developed an early appreciation for the power of history to illuminate the present and shape the future. In 1951, McCullough enrolled at Yale University, where he studied English literature and graduated with honors. His time at Yale proved formative, instilling in him a love for writing and a commitment to excellence that would define his career as a historian. After graduating from college, McCullough embarked on a career in journalism, working as a writer and editor for various publications, including Sports Illustrated and American Heritage magazine. His experience as a journalist honed his storytelling skills and instilled in him a deep respect for the craft of writing.

In the 1960s, McCullough turned his attention to book writing, publishing his first book, The Johnstown Flood (1968), which chronicles the devastating flood that struck Johnstown, Pennsylvania, in 1889. The book marked the beginning of McCullough's distinguished career as a historian and biographer, showcasing his ability to vividly recreate historical events and bring them to life on the page. McCullough's subsequent works further solidified his reputation as a master storyteller and chronicler of American history. From his Pulitzer Prize-winning biography of President Harry S. Truman, Truman (1992), to his sweeping narrative of the construction of the Panama Canal, The Path Between the Seas (1977), McCullough's books have captivated readers with their depth of research, insight, and narrative skill.

Throughout his career, McCullough has received numerous awards and honors for his contributions to the field of history and literature, including two Pulitzer Prizes, two National Book Awards, and the Presidential Medal of Freedom, the nation's highest civilian honor. Beyond his achievements as an author, McCullough is also a respected public figure and advocate for the importance of history education. His engaging lectures and television appearances have helped bring history to a wider audience, inspiring countless individuals to explore the rich tapestry of America's past.

As he approaches his ninth decade, David McCullough remains as passionate and dedicated to his craft as ever, continuing to inspire readers with his timeless tales of American history and the extraordinary individuals who shaped it. His legacy as a chronicler of the American experience is secure, ensuring that future generations will continue to turn to his works for insight, inspiration, and understanding.

Best books in order by author list:

A    B    C    D    E    F    G    H    I    J    K    L    M    N    O    P    Q    R    S    T    U    V    W    X    Y    Z

Privacy Policy        |        Terms and Disclosure        |        Contact        |        About        |        Best Book Categories        |        Framed Tributes

© 2002 - 2024 Leather Bound Treasure