D. H. Lawrence Books

Easton Press D. H. Lawrence books:
Lady Chatterly's Lover - 1988
Women in Love - 1988
Sons and Lovers - 1988

Franklin Library D. H. Lawrence books:
Women in Love - 100 Greatest Books of All Time - 1979
Sons and Lovers - 20th Century's Greatest Books - 1981
Four short novels by D. H. Lawrence - Collected Stories of the World's Greatest Writers - 1984

David Herbert Lawrence (1885-1930) was an English writer and poet who was born in Eastwood, Nottinghamshire, and educated at the University College, Nottingham. In 1914 Lawrence married Frieda von Richthofen, sister of the German military aviator Baron Manfred von Richthofen. D. H. Lawrence was afflicted with Tuberculosis, and traveled abroad in search of a climate that might benefit his health. The impressions he gathered in Italy, Sardinia, Australia, Mexico, and New Mexico gave Lawrence material for travel books and backgrounds for some of his fiction.

D. H. Lawrence was one of the most important English writers of the first quarter of the 20Th century. Lawrence is noted particularly for his books and short stories dealing frankly with the sex relationship in its psychological and physical aspects. Lawrence was one of the earliest of modern English writers to employ the principals of psychoanalysis in fiction. Because of their outspokenness, several of D. H. Lawrence's books were suppressed in England and the United States, but in time the ban on the books was removed.

D. H. Lawrence's masterpiece is generally considered to be the book Sons and Lovers (1913), a profound and moving study of the relationship between mother and son. Others of his books are The White Peacock (1911), The Trespasser (1912), The Rainbow (1915), The Lost Girl (1920), Women in Love (1921), Aaron's Rod (1922), Kangaroo (1923), The Plumed Serpent (1926), Lady Chatterley's Lover (1928), and The Virgin and the Gypsy (1930) D. H. Lawrence's books of verse include Look! We Have Come Through (1917), Amores, Birds, Beasts, and Flowers (1925), and a book of collected poems (1928). Miscellaneous books by D. H. Lawrence include Twilight in Italy (1916), Sea and Sardinia (1921), Mornings in Mexico (1927), Psychoanalysis and the Unconscious (1921), and Studies in Classical American Literature (1923).

Powered By Blogger

Privacy Policy        |        Contact        |        Affiliate Marketing Disclosure and Terms

© 2002 - 2023 Leather Bound Treasure