Bruce Catton Books

Easton Press Bruce Catton books:
Gettysburg - the final fury - 1986
Reflections on the Civil War - 1987
Mr Lincoln's Army -1990
Glory Road - 1990
A Stillness at Appomattox - 1990

Franklin Library Bruce Catton books:
A Stillness at Appomattox - signed limited edition - 1977
The Bold and Magnificent Dream - limited first edition ( not signed ) - 1978
The Coming Fury - signed limited edition - 1980
A Stillness at Appomattox - Pulitzer prize classics - 1983
Mr Lincoln's Army - Army of the Potomac Book 1
Volume I of The Army Of The Potomac trilogy, this is Bruce Catton's superb evocation of the early years of the Civil War when the army was under the command of the dashing General George B. McClellan.

Glory Road - Army of the Potomac Book 2
The critical months between the autumn of 1862 and midsummer 1863 is the focus of Glory Road. During this time the outcome of the Civil War is determined, as the battles at Fredericksburg, Rappahannock and Chancellorsville set the state for Union victory as Gettysburg.

A Stillness at Appomattox - Army of the Potomac Book 3
America's foremost Civil War historian recounts the final year of the Civil War in his final volume of the Army of the Potomac Trilogy.

Bruce Catton takes the reader through the battles of the Wilderness, the Bloody Angle, Cold Harbot, the Crater, and on through the horrible months to one moment at Appomattox. Grant, Meade, Sheridan, and Lee vividly come to life in all their failings and triumphs.

When first published in 1953, Bruce Catton, our foremost Civil War historian was awarded both the Pulitzer Prize and the National Book Award for excellence in nonfiction. This final volume of The Army of the Potomac trilogy relates the final year of the Civil War.

Gettysburg: The Final Fury
A Pulitzer Prize-winning author and respected authority on the Civil War clarifies the causes of the battle of Gettysburg and brings alive the most famous battle ever fought on American soil.

The Bold and Magnificent Dream
The Cattons, popular-historian father & academic-historian son, offer "a combination of narrative & interpretive essay" on early America that seeks "not to break new ground but to impose our own thoughts & order upon conventional historical material." The book's building blocks are the European background of settlement, colonial growth, the revolution, the adoption of the Constitution, the emergence of political parties & the War of 1812. The authors are familiar with much of the pertinent & recent historical literature. Their facts are consistently accurate & their evaluation of the individual historical components of their story are sensible. But their broad interpretive overlay is little more than a rehash of the old patriotic, Whiggish account of the inexorable development of America as a land of democracy & material opportunity (except for blacks & Indians) & of Americans as an individualistic & hard-working people. Intrinsic to this genre is retrospective history, & the authors see in the early 18th-century colonial societies the seeds of everything from Lexington & Concord to the rise of industry. But, to their credit, the Cattons are willing to confront facts that do not strictly conform to the traditional outlines of the American dream story. They note, for example, that England practiced religious toleration before the colonies & that most indentured servants never achieved material success.

The Coming Fury - The Centennial History of the Civil War Series Book 1
A thrilling, page-turning piece of writing that describes the forces conspiring to tear apart the United States with the disintegrating political processes and rising tempers finally erupting at Bull Run.

In words that weave history into art, Bruce Catton has created a book about the coming of the Civil War that is at once a broad canvas and a revealing close-up. Different from anything he has written before, except in the sheer beauty of its narrative style, The Coming Fury is conceived as classic tragedy; as a series of ever-narrowing circles of choice with fewer and fewer men to make them, enclosing, finally, but two men faced with almost no choice at all.

Reflections on the Civil War
Pulitzer Prize-winning writer Bruce Catton was America’s greatest Civil War historian, and he made the events of that seminal conflict come alive for millions. In this, his final book, edited from many hours of tapes after Catton’s death, he goes right to the heart and soul of what brought this nation to the battlefield. He reflects not only on military history, but also on the actual experience of army life for the common soldier; 17 period drawings by soldier-artist John Geyser, a young private in the Union Army, enhance the insightful words. Catton plunges into the spirit of the time to uncover the motives and emotions that caused the flood of war.


No comments:

Post a Comment

Book review and recommendations

Leather bound books by author list:

A    B    C    D    E    F    G    H    I    J    K    L    M    N    O    P    Q    R    S    T    U    V    W    X    Y    Z

Privacy Policy        |        Terms and Disclosure        |        Contact        |        About        |        Book Categories        |        Framed Tributes

© 2002 - 2023 Leather Bound Treasure